Bluebells Ludon Hill 24/04/2011

24/04/2011
Bluebell Shoot

I am a part of a group which produces an annual landscape calendar for St. Gennys
parish. We solicit photos from the whole village, which usually means we get
lots of shots of the beach and cliffs and almost none of the parish backways.
So I devote my time to trying to get interesting photos of out-of –the –way
places. One of my favourites is Ludon Woods, especially this time of year
because there are bluebells. I’ve been trying for a couple of years to get a
decent bluebell shot so this year I decided to plan ahead.

My preparation began a week ago when I spent Sunday afternoon scouting the woods for bluebells. I also spent time checking the sunlight. The woods lie in a
steep valley where the sun arrives late and leaves early. By my rough
calculations, the period between 10:30 and 1:30 would be the prime times. Last
week the bluebells were just starting, but the forecast was for warm, dry
weather so I figured they would really come into bloom in about another week.

I originally intended to shoot on Thursday, but the weather was cloudy and I was
particularly interested in using sunlight in my shots. There was sea fog on
Friday and Saturday was overcast. But Sunday was lovely. I packed
my kit, camera, VR 18-270 lens and tripod. I wanted the latter because I
planned to shoot at 100 ISO with a fairly wide aperture. When I got down to the
woods, I found I had been correct in my estimates of both sunlight and bluebell
maturity. I took a total of 60 photos, mostly with the tripod. I shot some at
f/8, but moved to f/5 to try to get more of the blue color. We don’t have the
wide, thick swaths of flowers that you find elsewhere in Cornwall; however, one
of the strictures of shooting for the calendar is that the photos must be from
the parish so I made do. And I got four or so that worked. I don’t know if
they’ll make the cut for inclusion in the calendar, but they are good shots of
bluebells.

When I process the photos, I will manipulate the color curves to enhance the
blue.  I used exposure compensation when shooting to correct some of the highlights.
I also checked histograms on each one.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

