How I Got a Blog

I have been thinking about doing this for awhile, but have been put off by the mechanics of loading photos. I registered with WordPress back in January and left the site untouched until yesterday when I jumped in and uploaded my Learning Log for the current period. Then I started working on uploading photos. Selecting the photos was the easy part. The harder part was learning the system.

It took me 5 tried to actually get a photo uploaded and that one was so big it swallowed the whole top of the page. Only then did I check the FAQ and Support where I found instructions on how to go about uploading photos. When I followed those, the whole thing worked a treat.

The problem with all of this is that there are limitations on how many bytes you can upload. I could easily exceed my limit so I am putting one photo per entry, with the exception of this one since I have nothing to illustrate my work on this project. I will look into uploading more of my shots to Flickr so they can be checked.

I could wish for an easier workflow with this task. As present I find the photo in Elements, save it as a fairly low-level JPEG, export it to my desktop where I then pick it up and upload to my blog. That’s a lot of steps. I will be looking to simplify this process.

BTW, I discovered the difference between photos for a web page and photos to print. The latter must be of higher quality. Print photos should be high-resolution, absolutely clear. You use lower resolution for web pages because if you didn’t, you would eat all of your alloted space.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

