Evening Surprise

I have been trying to get a decent shot of Dizzard Woods for our local calendar. It is said to be the oldest wood in England.  Shooring within a wood is quite a task because the camera cannot see the forrest for the trees. A couple of weeks ago on a walk through the woods I found a tree that looked like it could be made to stand out so I set out to return to that place and try the shot. I didn’t count on forgetting how to get to the tree. I climbed over a couple of gates and made my way through someone’s field and got to the edge of the woods, but no farther because a fence cut me off. I tried some shots, all worthless.

What I did find was a quarry someone had dug on their land. It was small and new but a little pond had formed in the bottom. As I came closer I scared up 4 Mallards having an evening dip. Off in the distance a fox spotted me and turned away. Some discarded feathers floating on the pond caught my eye so I took a couple of shots. When I got them home and on my screen, I discovered more than I had seen. The camera can do that. It can show me much more than my eye saw simply because it seems so much less.

I shot at f/6.3, s50, ISO250, WB Cloudy. It was fairly late in the evening, although the sun had not set yet.

I think this photo interests me because I am longing for something to change in my work. I want to break out of where I am and I don’t know how. I feel restless and this photo gave me something unexpected and quite interesting. I know the inclusion of the 4th feather is a rule-breaker, but I left it in because it provided a kind of balance to the feathers on the left. It helped make them seem to float in the air.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

