Solstice June 2011

I am working on a project with a poet and a visual artist where we go out to one of the ancient monuments on Bodmin Moor and do creative work. Last night was solstice eve so we went out the Minions to the Hurlers Stone Circles, a series of three 3500 year old stone circles. It is a popular place for solstice celebrations; however last night was mist and fog turning into driving rain.

Shooting was very hard. I had a plastic sleeve for my camera, which helped keep it dry. I had a raincoat, rain pants and waterproof shoes, all of which leaked. At one point a gust of wind caught my tripod and threw my camera at the ground, forcing the filter holder back and causing the filter ring to stick to the UV filter so I can’t separate them.

That being said, the fog and mist made the place mysterious and gave it a beauty I had not seen before. It was hard setting up shots because I had to keep the wind at my back. It was also very fiddley because each shot meant opening up the rain sleeve and focusing through a tiny hole for the eyepiece at the back. Then there was the mud and muck.

However, I got some interesting shots. The one included here is the best of the lot, in my opinion. It was a good learning night, that is for sure. Shooting the the rain is not something I would recommend, but here in Cornwall it will happen.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

