Look Group 20/07/2011

I am a member of a Look Group started by the |Tate St. Ives. We meet monthly and talk about art, look at art and sometimes create art. For this meeting we decided to go to a nearby beach and do a group project. The weather was not with us – it was wet and cold. And the gods of debris were not with us either because someone had just come along and cleaned the beach so there were little in the way of building materials. When I arrived, the group was busy searching for shells, specifically cowrie shells which are really hard to find.

As you can see, we all got right into it. However, some of us wandered off on other projects, arranging stones, building stone circles and moving rock around.

To my surprise, I shot a couple of still life photos. I was trying out my new 18-105mm Nikon lens. Although I really like it, I am not used to having to be so close. That is good for me. I took most of these shots on aperture priority, f/8 or f/16 depending on what kind of light I was getting. It was dark and cloudy. Moreover, wet rocks are not terribly colorful. I didn’t bring my tripod so these are all hand held.

 

 

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

