Why I do this

I’ve been thinking about this ever since I got my assessment for Assignment 2. My tutor suggested doing the whole thing over and re-submitting it. His point was that it could be made passable to an outside assesor. |But I am not taking this course for credit. I have all the degrees I ever want and I sure as hell don’t want anyone grading me. I am just competitive enough to knock myself out trying to get a good grade. I do it to the detriment of my learning. And learning is what this is all about for me.

I have spent my life working with words. Now I want to learn a language of seeing and thinking and I don’t want anything getting in my way. I read an article by Malcolm Gladwell who says that to be excellent at something you have to put in 10,000 hours of practice. I am not certain that I have 10,000 available. I don’t have the concentrated attention that I had when I was 12 and could throw myself headlong into something. My life is more diffuse and my ambitions much more limited.

What I do have is a passion to see. That is what I am learning here – to see the world in a different way. I don’t care much about prizes and not a fig about grades, but I am passionate about wanting to see and reproduce that sight. I think love will be in street shooting because the intereactioln with people really works for me. I love my street work more than anything elseĀ I do. Its fast, gritty and spontaneous. An image I took in London last month sums it up. Here it is, and it is my signature photo.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

