Camel Estuary 27/02/2011

I have a Sigma 50-500mm lens that I seldom use because it is a bear to haul around, but on Sunday a friend invited me to go birdwatching on the Camel Estuary. We had a rare sunny day. Prep involved hauling out my monster lens, mounting it on my D-300s and attaching the whole thing to the tripod. I didn’t bring any filters or polarizers because I have never used either with the big lens.

We drove to a half-way point on the bike trail connecting Wadebridge and Padstow. Once out we hiked about a mile, climbed over a locked gate and crossed a field to set up on the bank of the River Camel.

As is often the case, tons of birds were feeding just beyond the capability of my 500 mm lens. But this Little Egret did me a favor and moved to a pool within range. It is a male in breeding plumage. This photo was taken at f/16, manual setting, ssd250,  ISO 200,  50-500 mm lens at 500 mm.

A moment later the egret took flight giving me this lovely photo with just the hint of a reflection at the bottom.

And, finally, there was this colourful oystercatcher just feeding away. I really like those birds.

I have felt insecure about this lens, but this day’s work left me feeling more confident. I know the 500mm. does will with a monopod and I do have one so I have to get it out on the coastline and see what I can find there.   Fulmars are nexting down at the Haven about a mile from here so I should try getting a shot or two of them.

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

