London Street Portrait Shooting Workshop

12/02/2012

This day-long workshop on portraiture on the streets was the second I have taken with the photographer, Lou Smith. I love working with her because her critique focuus on where each student is in their work. She gives each student plenty of time and suggestions that are exactly right for them. She supports and challenges, which is a wonderful combination.

My model was a fellow student who is also a friend. We have a nice rapport and were comfortable working with each other. We worked outside in very cold weather. The sky was overcast, but dry. Lou taught us to use reflectors to enhance the ambient light on the subject. She worked extensively with me on problems with exposure, something I have been struggeling with for some time.

We were in the Southwark area near London |Bridge so we had a very scenic area to work in.  This photo was shot at f/6.3, s1/40, ISO 800. We were inside a gallery of the cathedral. I cropped the photo down to emphasize Mina’s eyes.

 

 

 

For this last photo I was outside shooting through a glass door. In order to prevent reflections I used a polarizer;however, this is where I ran into exposure problems and had to bump up my ISO.

This was a fun and useful workshop. Working outside is just great and I love working with models with whom I am comfortable and can move around freely.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

