Photo Essay – Janie and Alan

   I am beginning my final assignment for DPP. I’ll be photographing people in my village, Crackington Haven. This is the kind of project I have been wanting to do for a long time so I am excited – also nervous.

Today I did my first shooting – a couple who live at a nearby Hamlet called Pencuke., Janie was not happy about being photographed but I wheedeled her into it. Her husband, Alan, was quite happy to pose. Actually, this division has been my experience so far. Women have to be cajoled into being photographed while men just shrug and say okay.

Janie said she was very nervous, but after I got her talking, she appeared to relax. I looked around the house for where to pose her. Actually, I chose an indoor shot because there was a fairly high wind with intermittent showers outside. I believe I chose a poor location because too much light is coming through the windows allowing highlights at her hairline. Although I like the shadow on her face, I suspect it is really too deep. I adjusted the highlights in both RAW and the jpeg catefories and I lightened the shadows somewhat. But  I don’t think either one overcomes the side light.

Other problems with the shoot were that I forgot to turn off the auto features on my camera when I used the tripod. I also didn’t lower the ISO until half way trhough. I ended shooting at f/8, ISO 100 with a 50mm lens.

For next time I am going to take more time to study the light, be conscious of changing the poses and shoot from different angles so I don’t just focus on the face. Every shoot is a learning opportunity.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

