Staying with it till its right

Early in the spring I found a spot on the Cornwall Coast Path that gave me a view of the St. Gennys coast I’d never seen before. Since I work on the annual scenic calendar, I determined to get a shot of it. The first time I went out was in late April and it was chilly enough to discourage my hanging around too long. I got some shots, but none were what I wanted. Bad weather got in the way, as it will. When I tried again, I didn’t have the right lenses with me, although what I did that night was close.

So on Sunday night I got the shot below. I took my tripod and my Lee filters along. I set up using my 18-270mm lens. Once I got my focus right, I put on the .6 ND filter, hard gradient and, using my cable release, started shooting. The resultant shot was markedly vingetted as a result of the 72mm filter adaptor. So post production I cropped more than I would have wanted. I also tweaked, but not bloody much.

This is the shot and I think it was worth the effort.

Here is what I learned. 1) get a shot in your mind, but don’t be so devoted to that image that you fail to see the goods shots in front of you; 2) if you really think there is a good shot there, keep trying until you get it.; 3)check your lenses before you leave the house; 4)do something about the %$^$£ Lee filters and their vignetting.

 

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

