Rough Tor Solstice (almost)

My art collabortative group decided we needed a photo of Rough Tor, a North Cornwall landmark. In keeping with the theme of the group, the shoot had to be on the solstice so I consulted my trusty weather app only to find that Thursday June 21 was predicted to be gales and rain; however, Tuesday the 20th was clear and lovely so I loaded up three lenses and headed out to the Moor after supper.

I had scouted the location the day previous to find a good shooting spot that would include: 1) great view; 2)be fairly flat and accessible:3)be reasonlably close to the parking area so I wouldn’t have to schlep my gear all the way to hell and back.

The place was great.  I set up my tripod, put on my new 120-400 lens, fitted the Lee filter holder complete with filter and attached my cable release. I set the ISO to 100 to avoid noise, aperture f/8, s 1/50 and shot full out at 400 mm. This is the shot I got. It is okay if you like a pile of rocks at the top of a tor, but it hardly a view of the tor.

So  switched off to my trusty Tameron 19-270, shooting at f/16 to increase depth of field and 1/45s, at 35 mm. The result was the second photo.  Which is a little more like it.  Unfortunately there is slight vingnetting, but much better from previous photos since I switched to the WA adaptor ring for my filters. Someday I am going to write an essay on the cost of filter rings and how Lee makes it really difficult to get the right ones. But that will have to wait.

The big issue on this shoot was the midges. They came out in force as soon as I set up. Finally they forced me back to my car where I waited as the light changed but every time I ventured out, they attacked. I had forgotten bug spray. Avon Skin So Soft is said to be the best in the world.  But I will make a note for next time.

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

