Gary and the Kids

My friend Gary and his partner, Max, have a smallholding in the parish on which they have chickens, sheep and a small herd of goats. I asked if I could shoot him at work and he suggested I come over when he feeds the kids. So I toddled out at 6:00 to make the 7:00 feeding. My preparation was to check that my battery was okay and that I had my 18-105 lens on the camera. Also my external flash because I figured we’d be shooting in a dark barn. I was right.

Post production I had problems with the shadows created by the flash, in particular around Gary’s nose.  I changed the ISO to cloudy, decreased the exposure and brightness and then used the clone tool to remove the shadows around Gary’s nose, taking care not to give him a nose the size of Cyrano.

The barn was down a steep hill, nestled into a hillside. The older goats were there so I got shots of Gary milking. Getting one of the stream of milk coming out was a challenge, but I managed one. It is not the grand money shot because I really couldn’t worm in close enough for that. I experienced trouble with my flash. It seems to take forever to want to recharge, then it stopped altogether so I had to fall back on my camera flash, which is a lot harsher. I think it was a battery problem, but I must read my flash instructions. Duh.

I shot a s/250, f/3.5 at 2100 ISO. The WB was set on automatic; however, I selected cloudy in post production to soften the harsh light of the flash.

Gary was hard to shoot because he wears his cap almost over his eyes. The goats, however, were swell subjects. They had no fear of me, indeed, they were very curious to know what I had in my backpack and pockets.

Lessons learned: study up on how the external flash gun works and don’t carry so much shit on a shoot like this. Less is more. I had to scramble down a hill and around a tiny shed with my pack taking up far too much room. My camera and flash would have been sufficient. Less really is more.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

