Settings and Backgrounds Part 2

This is the part of the assignment where I went out with my model cum partner, Ellen, and actually chose the site and did the shots.  The place I selected was a white stairway outside a house in Boscastle. I chose it because of the contrast between the greenry, the white stairs and the stone walls.

My preparation for this assignment was largely covered in the previous post where I scouted out various locations. On this shoot I tried one of them, but nothing about it worked. As I shot the photos I knew it wasn’t going where I wanted – the light was too bright, I couldn’t get the colours of the door, her hair was wrong and I couldn’t get the angles I wanted.

Fortunately, the site with the stairs was just down the hill and once we moved there the shadow permitted me to get the colours I wanted and the stairs themselves gave a good contrast with the green of the wall.

I shot at f/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 320 and 21mm with an 18-105 lens. The setting is good, but I have a lot to learn about how to place and pose my model. What I have here is a pretty good snapshot, not a portrait of a model. I need to learn to work with my model to evoke a mood to match the place.

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

