Hanging a Show

I should title this “Hanging a Show Without Hanging Yourself” because this was my first experience at hanging an exhibit and I felt like I did almost everything wrong. The project was one I had been working on for two years along with an artist and a poet. Fortunately they were both experienced gallery people and knew how to set up a show as well as all the details, e.g. bring screwdrivers, eye hooks and sandpaper.

What I had not anticipated is that all my prints would need to be framed. Somehow I thought that having thim mounted and wrapped in cellophane would be sufficient. Of course it wasn;t so I had to run to the high street, find a framer and beg her to do an emergency job for me. She did and it all fell into place but it was much more stressful than it should have been.

The big lesson for me is that if you are going to display your work in a professional setting, do a professional presenaation. Get your work mounted and framed so that it looks its best. Then hang carefully and stand back and admire.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

