Eye Contact and Expression

This was a nice exercise for me. My prep consisted of finding a place to shoot. I live in a bungalow which is not overly large and does not offer a plethora of sites to use for a portrait shoot. I chose the conservatory because of its light; however, that meant moving out half the furniture to give myself space for a tripod. This time I took some test shots to check the light and background. Determining that the background was too cluttered with things on the windowsill behing the model, I cleared that area out. The background still contained an intrusive bookshelf which would not have shown if I could have persuaded my model to disturb the cat sleeping next to her. But she didn’t want to.

I tried two lenses, a 18-105mm and a 50mm prime lens and chose the latter. The prime lens works really well when you want to focus on a face and torso. I shot at f/8.0, 1/500s, ISO1600, which was really higher than necessary, and with a tripod and cable release. In all of these shots I directed my model from behind the camera. At first I was a little too low; however when I raided the tripod slightly I got the level about right. The interesting thing to me is how the model’s expression changes simply by raising or lowering her eyes. The whole mood shifts frm smiling to pensive.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

