Alex Tor November 2012

My friend the photographer is doing a project on Bodmin Moor so yesterday I took her out to Alex Tor, a cairn site with hut circles which is just outside St. Breward. It ligns with Tough Tor and Brown Willy, our two local mountains.

The day was chilly with sun and variable clouds. We got busy about 2:00 when the sun was already at a fairly low angle. Afternoon shooting this time of year can be a real joy because you can get good light pretty early in the day. First we climbed the Tor, then set up. I had a lot of faffing to do with my Lee Filters. The filter holder was hard to fit and the adaptor ring got stuck to my polarizer and both of them kept falling off the camera. I had to take my UV filter off to make them stay on at all. I do not understand why anything with the name Lee on it is so fiddly. It seemed to take forever to persuade the filter holder to go on, but I finally got the trick.

I shot at variable exposures, with filter I shot at f/4.5., Without I went up to f/6.3 but I left the ISO at 100. Of course I used a tripod for most of the shots. Our preparation should have included a thermos of tea and something to eat because we were both dying for a cuppa when we finished at sundown.     As I look at the photos, I need to pay more attention to exactly what is in my viewer – my ongoing challenge.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

