Portrait Sequence

For this assignment I took a total of 20 photos and rated them. The process was quite interesting. I began by selecting a spot and clearing out the space. Then I set up my tripod and camera and did some test shots. Ellen, my model, was wearing a white sweater which would not do well with the pale yellow wall behind her so I asked her to shuck it off and pose in the black turtleneck she wore underneath. In this session we managed to establish an easy working relationship with her suggesting poses as I shot. We both had a lot of fun with this task and I think some of the poses were pretty good.

When I first started photography, I used Ellen’s 35mm Minolta. Every photo I took of her has the same “Ida-what-are-you-doing-with-my-camera?” expression. Now, she has learned to relax as a subject as have I as a photographer.

In this session I shot with first my 50mm prime lens. For some reason I had trouble with manual focus today so a number of the photos got dumped because the focus was too soft. I dumped several others b ecause they duplicated poses. But these 5 I chose were the best of the lot. the first two were taken with the 50mm. lens. The last three with an 18-105mm lens. The first two were shot at ISO200, the last three at ISO 400 to give the model a chance to be more fluid.

I am feeling much more confident about working with models and asking for expressions because I am starting to get an ideal of what a particular expression will look like, e.g. eyes down will look pensive.  I also enjoyed the process of elimination. 20 photos gives a good base number of shots.

 

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

