Capturing the Moment

Capturing a great shot is what street photography is all about. I especially love the photos where the photographer has staked a site out and waits for an interesting passer-by. I’ve never managed to do that, but I am always scouting around for the right backdrop.

For today I was out shooting at Lemon Quay in Truro at the Xmas Market. The weather was great, cold and clear, but I was not. I am having problems with an ankle and walking is becoming difficult and this limited my shooting. However, I did catch sight of this woman seated on a bench. She had given great care to her dress and presentation. As I caught her, she lit a cigarette, but I was too slow to shoot her in the act. So I focused on her at some distance as she closed her eyes and sat for a quiet moment.  I shot at f/6.5, 1/100s, ISO 400. I used my Tameron 18-270mm lens at 185mm for this photo. What I like about it is her sense of separation from the bus behind her and the hustle and bustle outside the frame. She and her cigarette are alone in the moment.

in the momentThis kind of work is exciting to me – partly because it is risky. Although I had plenty of distance, I was using a rather large lens and could be clearly seen to be taking pictures. I work as fast as I can in case I have to get moving. But there is a part of me that loves being a spy with a camera. I even like lurking around, waiting for a good shot. I guess I have the heart of a paparazzi.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

