Medium Telephoto

Medium Focaql LengthI took my 18-270mm lens for this assignment. I have a 400mm and a 500 lens, but I cannot imagine how I would take either of those into a public space and not turn myself into an object of attention. They are large, heavy and require a tripod/monopod so I elected to use the smaller, medium telephoto.   As I mentioned in an earlier assignment, I prefer to use my 18-105mm because it forces me to get closer and the fact is, closer is better. Closer lets you control the extent to which other people get in the way and it also forces a kind of intimacy which is just not possible at a greater distance. On the other hand, with the right telephoto lens, you can pretty well go unnoticed. The following photo was taken pretty far away from the subject; but the view is a close one. Unfortunately, the view also included the guy who suddenly decided to stand on top of the bench, thrusting himself into my shot. The subject had settled in, but looked likely to move on soon so I had to shoot or give up. I chose to shoot.  I shot at f/6. 100s, ISO400, 18-270, 130mm. My lens would have given me more distance, but if I got too far away I risked having more people walk into my shooting zone.  And there in lie the problems with medium telephoto.

Someone, it may have been Robert Capa, said if your photos are no good, you’re not close enough. I agree. I am working toward street shooting with my 50mm. lens because I think it will give me the intimacy I want.Medium Focaql Length

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

