Edinburgh 2014

We go to the Fringe Festival every year. The shows are great, the city is beautiful and the street shooting is over the moon; however, this year was a hard one for me. I am still recovering from surgery and walking painfully so my mobility was sadly limited. Instead of the usual 150-200 photos, I took 25 and few of them were in my favorite haunts. I did manage several that I like. Edinburghj 2013 (85 of 101)

This young woman interested me for several reasons. She was completely absorbed in her journal which made her pretty easy to shoot. I liked the chain behind her and I loved the flower in her hair. Flowers in hari seem to be just the thing in Edinburgh this year, but few of the women I saw carried it off as well as this young woman. I shot at 200ISO, 58 mm with an 18-115 lens and s1/250. The light was good. I’ve cropped it a little and decreased the exposure somewhat to bring up the colors.

Edinburghj 2013 (91 of 101)I love this woman trying on a hat. The red of her hat picks up the reds of the hats in the background and the price tag is the icing on the cake. Shot at ISO200, f/5.3, s1/250 at 75 mm with an 18-115 mm. lens. I increased the exposure and raised the tone curve to emphasize the color of the hat.

 

 

Edinburghj 2013 (92 of 101)I was sitting at a window counter when a man and woman appeared before me. Suddenly the woman dropped out of sight. She reappeared, then vanished again and when I stood up to look for her there was nothing to be seen. I grabbed my camera and went outside to find that she had put herself in this suitcase and was passing out leaflets for her performance which was to take place in about 20 minutes. She waved leaflets at whoever would taken them and appaarently was to be transported to her performance while still inside the bag! Edinburgh is a most remarkable place. Shot at ISO 200, 24 mm with an 18-115 lens, f/3.8, s1/250.

In all this year was a study in what you can do when you can’t get arouind well. I didn’t get the range of photos I have in earlier years, but I think I found several nice ones.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

