Space and Function Ex 1 – Arcade

Our assignment is to find a space, explore it carefully and make a list of the things its supposed to be doing. Who uses it and for what? The first issue is to select a place. North Cornwall is full of churches, but that is almost too obvious. We have two assembly sites in the parish, both of which are put to multiple uses, but neither of them captured my imagination. I finally settled on a shopping arcade in Launceston. Its always fascinated me because you rarely see this kind of arcade in the U.S. We go for huge, multi-story shopping centers that suck the lives out of nearby towns. The Lanunceson Market Arcade is in the center of town – between the church and the town square. It was built at some point in the early 20th Century and survives precariously in a town with a Tesco.   Its function is to house a series of small businesses – a hairdresser, a cafe, a health food store, a physical therapist and some County offices.

As you can see from the photo, it is far from busy. I go there often and have always found it a little sad. That was because I never looked up at the beautiful murals and the light that comes in from the high windows. I never let myself see what is there.  The little cafe is a place of socializing for morning coffee and lunches. It is less busy in the afternoon, although they do serve a nice tea cake.

The exterior photo was shot as ISO200, 25mm, 18-105 lens, f/4.0, s1/250 with a polarizer. In post production I decreased the exposuire, sharpened and lowered the tone curve.

The interior photo was shot at ISO200, 18mm, f/6.3, s 1/25.  Post production I lowered the exposue, increased the contrast and lowered the tone curve.

The difficulties with this assignment were in selecting a place, then getting my arms around the idea of the use of space. How does the building work for what is is supposed to do. I think comparing the Market Arcade to a shopping center says a lot. I have never seen a beautiful shopping center. That Market Arcade is beautiful and still manages to sell things, provide services and feed you up.

 

Exercise 1 Space & Function (9 of 24)

Exercise 1 Space & Function (18 of 24)

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

