Shooting Robyn

  Robyn is leaving for university soon and her family wanted a photo. After some thought, I decided to use Launceston as my site because I know some good locations there. I asked Robyn to wear something fairly dark, with a simple neckline. As for jewelry, I asked for clean and simple – nothing that would detract from her face. She showed up a little tired with bags under her eyes, which concerned her a lot. Her brother, Max, came along to assist and hold the reflector.

The day was cloudy, which made for good shooting. We tried several sites. Robs was interested in not showing what she considers to be a double chin, so no shots from below. I eventually had her sit on a wall and shot down, filling the frame with her face. The color photo is the one she eventually choose. So first I had to go through and lower the exposure, heighten the contrast and lower the color curve. Then I started messing with the healing tool in Lightroom, but I could not make the sucker work. So I jumped to Elements and used the healing tool with layers. It was more trouble, but worth the effort because it took those bags right out. However, the first prints did not please me. They had a sepia, red cast that I didn’t like. I went back to Lightroom and worked with the priner settings, but still didn’t like what I got. I was looking at the wall in the background thinking I wanted more grey when it occurred to me that B&W would give me just what I wanted. The B&W photo is what I got. Robyn is in Cyprus this week. Hope she likes it when she comes home.

Robyn (46 of 65)_edited-1 

Robyn (46 of 65)_edited-1

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

