Exercise: The Users Viewpoint

The challenge of this assignment was to pick a place and a viewpoint. I could have chosen the church – all it would take was kneeling down and shooting, but that seemed too easy. So I picked the pub. I decided I wanted to shoot from the point of view of pint, not stout because its too dark, but a nice golden lager. I went to the pub about 1:30 in the afternoon when the lunch rush was done and things were quieter. I approached the people behind the bar to ask if I could take some photos. I offered to buy them a pint. A fellow seated at the bar said, “What about me?” so I bought him a pint too. Then asked for a pint to photograph. We had an extended discussion about what kind, eventually choosing a German lager, and what containter. I went with the bartender’s suggestion of a San Miguel Pint POV Exercise (5 of 18) Pint POV Exercise (6 of 18) Pint POV Exercise (18 of 18)glass because its very shapely.

I should now mention that I just got a new camera and lens. The camera is a Nikon 700-D, chosen over the 800 at the suggestion of some of my friends who are professionals. I got a used one at Mifsuds Camera in Brixton. It should have another 19 years on it. Considering that I am 74 that ought to do me for awhile. Of course I had to get a full-frame lens too, so I got a Nikon 24-120mm.  I am just learning this camera, but what I see so far I really like. The controls are just like my Nikon 300-D so there is no learning curve there. I love the clarity of full frame and I think this is going to be a permanent relationship for me.

I started by taking some test shots to get the light levels. The Combe Barton is not as dark as some pubs, nevertheless, I needed to set the ISO at 800. I took the three following photos at ISO 800, f/7.1.  I took my glass of lager around to various places in the pub and took some shots. It was fun shooting from this perspective and I sure did make some friends at the pub. Since I don’t drink, I gave my model pint to a man who was sitting in front of an empty glass looking lonely.  I think these photos show a little more of the pub that one usually sees. When I mentioned I’d be shooting there, everyone in the village tried to dissuade me, saying it was so ugly. True, its not a place of great beauty, but in these shots it looks warm and kind of fun.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

