London Photoshoot – Light and Form

London Photo 2013 (31 of 151) London Photo 2013 (70 of 151) London Photo 2013 (83 of 151) London Photo 2013 (113 of 151)I spent Sunday at a workshop with Lou Smith of London Photo Workshops. We focused on abstracts, something entirely new for me. I really loved it. The idea of working to catch light and reflection, of deliberately blurring an image was completely foreign to me and I think it wil change my work in some interesting ways.

The shot to the right of the refelection of the shard was taken with a D-700, 50ml prime lens ISO800, f/16 and 1/250s.

The shot at the right was taken with the same camera and lens ISO 320, f/4.5, 1/250s. The challenge here was to find some kind of object to anchor the water flowing over stone. Without an object, the shot was flat and meaningless. I am thinking of converting this one to black and white.

 

The shot of the models was taken inside an arcade at ISO 800, f/11, ISO250. I was attracted by the contrasts on the site and the reflections. Not until I downloaded it did I see how dark the shot was.

The upper right hand shot is a reflection taken on a metallic strip on the side of a building on the London Pier. ISO 200, 23mm with a 24-120 lens, f/18 and 1/60s.

Since this workshop I have found myself noticing all kinds of small things in my environment. Lou calls this “anstracting the location”. For me its a new waty of seeing and I am quite excited by it.

 

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

