Unrecognizable subject

I used a project I am working on as an opportunity to complete this assignment. I am working with a para-olympic dressage rider. She is preparing for the series contests that will precede the Rio Olympics. She’s working with a new horse and the two are becoming acquainted with each other’s needs and foibles. I took the following photos on a dark and stormy Friday morning in a training arena at the stable where the horse is housed. The light varied from poor to terrible and I did a lot of experimenting with ISOs as well as shutter settings.  In previous sessions the rider had stated her distaste for being photographed and wished to have her face obscured so in this session I could focus on doing just that. She has become more comfortable with me as has Woody, the horse.

Dressage (30 of 437)This shot was taken in the stall. ISO 2000, 20mm,  24-120mm lens, f/5.6 and s1/100. I was at the back of the stall shooting my subject as she prepared the horse. Dressage (32 of 437)

 

 

 

TDressage (422 of 437)his photo reveals a small profile of the subject’s face; however her hair and helmet hide the rest. I think she could be recognized by someone who knew her, but not by a stranger. ISO 200, 24-120 lens at 20mm, f/5.6, s1/100.

In the photo above, the session was over and the rider had dismounted. I was trying to get a shot with her head down, faced masked by the helmet, but Woody had other ideas. He wanted attention. So the rider is obscured, except for the  bare shoulder. I think it is a more interesting shot that the one I had in mind. ISO1600, 58mm, f/7.1, 1/40Dressage (421 of 437)

This shot shows he rider with her crutches.  Woody stands by, watching. ISO1600, 45mm, f/7.1, s1/60

 

It would have been great to go out to a crowd and take lots of candid photos obscuring the face and I wish I could have done it, but my health does not permit so I have made do with the opportunity that was available. It gave me an interesting perspective on my subject and I actually think she’ll like the photos.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

