Photographing Twins

Photographing babies is really fun, but twins are a real adventure. For one thing, there are two of them. Just as you pull your focus and get all ready to shoot, one of them takes off in another direction while the other smiles sweetly at. I prepared for this shoot by settling on my 50 mm fixed focus lens. The mother wanted me to shoot in her home, so I had to figure out the place with the best light on a rainy day. It turned out to be the kitchen, so we had to clear the place out. After a few trial shots, the mother decided to put up a little teepee the girls loved. The plan was to pose them in front of it. The photo below is what happened.   Both babies turned and made straight for the inside. Shot at ISO 200, 50 mm, f/3.2, S 1/60. Handheld camera.

Babies

Babies

Babies (152 of 243)

 

 

 

The lower shot was taken after the girls tired of the tent and moved on to some of their toys. At this point they were crawling around the dining area amid all kids of toys and clutter. The space was narrow and crowded, but this shot fell into place with the help of a little cropping. ISO 200, 50mm, S 1/250. By this point in the shooting I had switched to manual so I could control motion with shutter speed.

You have to work fast with babies because they have short attention spans, but I got in and out before these two got sick of me. They are a delightful pair and I would  be happy to work with them anytime, but I did need a cuppa when I got home.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

