Launceston Shoot 24/01/2015

This was a Klein shoot. I set out with a 50mm prime lens to force myself to get up close with my subjects and I planned to interact with them where possible. I went on a Saturday morning so there would be some people about and it was about as busy as Launceston ever gets.

I can’t say I was entirely successful getting up close. I have a lot of trouble coming up on people and found myself missing my 12-120mm. lens. Nevertheless, many people were oblivious to me. Only one person really clocked me and she looked like she was going to come out and chase me off so I scurried on down the road.

Manual settings gave me a lot of trouble and I would have done better to shoot on shutter priority. That would give me more flexibility and let me concentrate on something other than the settings. I did talk to some people and got some positive responses. One man let me take his photo. I got my shot, checked to see if focus was good and moved on. When I put the photo up on my screen, he looked so sad that I felt I should have stopped to chat with him. Note for future – remember you are photographing a human being who might have some needs of his/her own.

There is an elderly lady who sits out on the streets in Launceston. She looks to be homeless. I knelt down beside her and offered a £10.00 note. It was hers whatever she decided, then I asked if I could take a photo. “I don’t care to have my photo taken,” she replied and started to hand the bill back. I told her to keep it. It is her right to refuse.

I learned some things from this shoot: 1) get your camera settings down, 2) use a small telephoto, 3)get closer, 4) look for a more crowded place to work.

Here are some of the photos I took that day.Launceston (89 of 104) Launceston (95 of 104)

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in London Photo Workshops. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

