At the Beach

    As an immigrant, I am always interested in English customs – morning coffee, afternoon tea, Christmas crackers and the beach. In America we go to the beach when its hot. We lay in the sun, stand in the water, drink too much beer and soak in the sun.  Over here, I have observed, people go to the beach because 1) they’re near the water 2) they’re on holiday; and 3) they are too proud to admit that they should have booked a trip to Spain.

Last week I was in Swanage Dorset where the changeable August weather gave me plenty of opportunity to observe my new countrymen in their summer plumage.

This is a day when no American would go to the v but the hearty English are not about to wast a moment of hliday.

This is a day when no American would go to the v but the hearty English are not about to wast a moment of hliday.

 These English people are out on a sunny day, but then one can't be too careful.

These English people are out on a sunny day, but then one can’t be too careful.

You'd never see these windbreaks in America. When the wind is that chilly, we stay home.

You’d never see these windbreaks in America. When the wind is that chilly, we stay home.

In all, my admiration for the English is undimmed. They are determined and will not something as trivial as inclement weather disturb a holiday. Well done.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Beach

  1. Trilla Pando says:

    Yea! Ida!
    I’ll be following every entry. You never know–I may show up at your front door. Our visit ‘way too many years ago was constant fun and frolic. (Yes, we frolicked!)

    Like

  2. pixieannie says:

    Ah yes. I’ve spent many a holiday on the beach, in rain. I actually love walking along the coastline in the autumn and winter. You’ve captured the essence of the British holidaymaker. Superb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

