Dreams of Hawkes Bay

A great many of the people we love live in New Zealand, on the North Island in Auckland and Hawkes Bay. Every year on year when England is wet, windy and dark, we climb aboard a plane and transport ourselves to summer with its long days, warm nights, fresh fruits and hours of friendship and good conversation. Unfortunately, this year’s trip had to be cancelled because of the injection schedule for my AMD treatments. Its not that I don’t like holidays in the village, but this time of year my heart wants to fly and for now it is grounded. So I did the next best thing. I went through some of the photos I took last year to relive the moments. ¬†These are of places around Hawkes Bay.

The headlands on the coast near Waimarama.

The headlands on the coast near Waimarama.

Granny cottage

Granny cottage

Waimaramra (7 of 13)

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Auckland, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dreams of Hawkes Bay

  1. Dan Antion says:

    These are wonderful photos. I’m sorry you have to miss your trip. I really like the cottage, and I love reflections of any kind, but reflections in water the best. Good luck with the treatments.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful indeed. I echo Dan’s comments

    Like

  3. Flo Golod says:

    Lovely Ida. What a sweet way to deal with disappointment. How long do the injections go on?

    Like

  4. Sandy Sue says:

    New Zealand is #2 on my Bucket Travel List (First I have to get back to the British Isles and fill up on Ireland. And now, maybe, Cornwall).

    And what an ordeal to go through over the holidays. Crossing fingers and toes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

