TWISTED OAKS

Cornwall is famous for the twisted and gnarled oak trees that line fence rows on our cost. The relentless winter winds blow in from the Irish Sea and prune and shape to forms that look alien to nature. Truly they are a form on bonsai.

I spend a lot of time searching for and photographing them because change is in the air. Rich newcomers are snatching up property and leveling object in sight in order to build the kinds of walls and houses that proclaim their importance. Trees vanish, are pruned into stumps or plowed down by huge machines that lay waste to old stone fences and the trees they support. My job is to find, document and love them.

Like all the trees on this page, this one is a couple of miles from my house.

St Gennys Church

This one is my special favourite. It is unfortunately no longer standing having been pruned to a stump.

This pair remind me of spinster sisters dancing through a field. I love them.

These beauties are on the Hill and Sweets road in my village. I love the way they intertwine.

About idaswears

I left the U.S. for Cornwall 4 years ago. Since then I have spent my time writing, walking and studying the English. It's not always easy being a Yank in Cornwall, but it's always fun and rewarding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TWISTED OAKS

  1. mardisteinau6158 says:

    Sure cotton to them twisted oaks . . . x m

    Like

  2. idaswears says:

    Glad you like them.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.